The Never Ending Evolution of Writing

7032421289_2d9143958d_o
ODC – Your Personality 112 Pictures in 2012 #40 – Something beginning with “T” Texture courtesy of Kirstin Frank

Writing has an evolution, one that is never ending.

You start out with an inferior infant, a zero draft, move onto the young optimistic child, the first draft, hit the frustrating teen years, the second draft, push through the hardships of the young adults, reach the road block middle aged years, drag into the wise seniors and finally come to a resting place, accepting the state of completion, when you are finally done and ready to turn it in.

According to my English class, you can’t be satisfied with what you originally wrote, that is wrong. You need to always be improving. To get input from other students, get examples from other essays and expertise advice from teachers.

A while ago, we watched this video about a child looking at a butterfly and then trying to draw it as closely to the original as possible. He did draw it well but not closely to the original one. He then got feedback from his peers and did better not only once but multiple times, each time working on something different.

Never had I thought about this way of writing before. Sure I always liked to get feedback to help me out but I haven’t thrived and craved feedback as much as I do now. I am constantly trying to expand on my previous draft. So far I have created three (not including my zero) drafts on my narrative essay for English and I hope to create one or two more before I turn in the final draft. I have gotten responses from my peers, my teacher, and other authors. I even looked at my writing differently for a chance at refining.

5034760960_2a16bf717c_o
Photo By: Jonathan Reyes on Flickr

I used to not like zero drafts, which is pretty much word vomit. It is where you don’t think but just write whatever comes to your mind, shaping your essay after that. I had always been taught and it had been in my nature to have structure first. Do this this, this, and that. Write your thesis, shaping your essay before writing it. Therefore, I am still getting used to throwing a china cup, seeing where it lands and then picking the pieces while trying to put it back together.

Apparently, the goal is, to have a perfect final product, one without any error and that looks spotless compared to your first drafts. This is very hard and incorrect, for how do you know if your second draft is better than your first. This takes practice and countless opinions. At no time should you assume that you are done perfecting your writing. Even when you are turning in your final draft you should know that it isn’t perfect, that it could still be improved upon and changed. Just like with a scientific theory, your writing needs to be tested numerous times and still can’t be proven completely right.

Remember to write, always getting feedback, even after you have already turned something in. Looking at what you did wrong can help you for your future writing.

-Forever Putting My Thoughts On Paper

Leave a Reply

